I Regretted Selling my Speedmaster

I broke a bond made in 2016. I actually sold my Speedmaster and regretted my decision. Let me tell my story this #SpeedyTuesday.

It was early 2019 when I sold my Omega Speedmaster Moonwatch Ref. 3570.50. The watch was 5 years old and probably due for servicing. My passion for watches was on the decline as nothing seemed to interest me, and the Speedmaster hadn’t seen much wrist time too. That was when I decided to sell the watch.

The Moonwatch had always been the cornerstone of my collection and it’s the first real watch I bought. I paid S$4,800 (US$3,450) for it back then when it was retailing at only S$5,900 (US$4,250). Mine came with the classic red Omega box, nothing fancy like what new Speedy owners are being offered now.

It’s a no frill and stealthy watch. Clean dial, sharp case design, great Lemania-based 1861 chronograph movement and well constructed bracelet.

As my collection grew, I found myself going back to the Speedy as the perfect everyday watch. It’s suitable for every occasion and goes well with almost all straps – be it on NATO or leather. In fact, I wore my Speedmaster for several memorable events which included my wedding in 2018 and honeymoon in Iceland.

The watch doesn’t wear large despite the 42mm case size. The relatively short lugs make it extremely wearable and it isn’t really thick thanks to the manual wind movement. For some, winding the movement every two days is a chore but it was always a pleasure for me and eventually becoming a natural thing to do.

Wearing my Omega Speedmaster Moonwatch Ref. 3570.50 in Iceland

Over the 5 years of ownership, the watch was really well worn with scratches on the case and scuff marks all over the bracelet. It ran well but I knew the Speedy needed a service. The winding had become stiffer than usual and had to be regulated.

At that time, I had lost my passion for watches and nothing really inspire me. I was tired of the watch market where everyone is just so obsessed with Rolex and nobody really cares about real watches anymore. Furthermore, most watch brands were set on their path to making remakes after remakes aka heritage. Nothing really interest me anymore.

How could I’ve let this one go?

So, I did the unthinkable. I sold off all of my watches, including the Speedy. I fetched S$4,000 (US$2,870) for a 5 years old watch, not a bad deal actually. I remember taking it to the new owner at his place. It was an older gentleman who was looking to buy a Speedmaster for his son. At this point of life, I grew to not have any attachment to material things. Letting go of the Speedy wasn’t tough, but it was unsettling.

Over those forgotten years, I started buying watches but only those that I like and not because they will appreciate in value. In 2020, the COVID-19 pandemic happened and most of us started working from home and were on lockdown. I managed to connect with some old friends and got into conversations about watches.

That reignited my passion for watches, and thought of my long lost Speedy. Then, I began my journey on buying back a Speedmaster.

Embarking on my new journey

Buying a brand new one isn’t an option, and doesn’t make sense to me since I have already experienced owning a brand new Speedy. I didn’t want to go vintage because a lot more studying is required to make a proper purchase. I’ve always liked the Broad Arrow though.

I spent some time on Carousell, a popular buy-and-sell platform here in Singapore where there’s a thriving pre-owned watch community. It took me just 10 minutes to come across a Broad Arrow Ref. 3594.50.

The watch was originally purchased from an authorised dealer (AD) in Japan in 1999, making it a 21 years old watch. I promptly contacted the seller and set up a meeting to view the watch. No surprise here, I BOUGHT IT!

It is in pristine condition and well taken care of. This particular Broad Arrow series was made only between 1997 to 2003. Mine came with a pusher clasp which I believe was only available from the late 1998 production onwards.

There’s obvious aging on the steel hands but I guess that’s part of the charm? We don’t see watches made like this anymore. The applied Omega logo and no “Professional” wording are a hallmark of the Broad Arrow. As compared to the Ref. 3570.50, the dial seemed a little more refined when paired with the Broad Arrow hands.

The bezel is probably the coolest part of the watch, fully brushed steel with painted tachymetre markers, a differentiating look from the black bezel on the Moonwatch. It shares the same domed hesalite crystal which gives it a vintage vibe.

While the Broad Arrow is made to imitate the pre-Moonwatch Speedmasters, the biggest difference is the watch case itself. It has the same case as the modern Speedmaster Professional with twisted lugs instead of straight ones.

I’m all too familiar with the Calibre 1861 movement powering this watch. The tactile sensation when winding the watch and activating the pushers for the chronograph brought back some great memories. There’s really no other watch that is as charming and evocative as the Speedmaster.

Unlike the Moonwatch, the Broad Arrow doesn’t have the lengthy “The First Watch Worn on the Moon” wordings on the case back. Just the iconic Hippocampus and Speedmaster emblem. Like always, Omega’s case back is aligned regardless.

Compared to my long lost Moonwatch, the Broad Arrow is a sensible replacement and reminder of how much I adore the Speedmaster. I’m just so glad to have the privilege to own one again.

Can I really say that I’ll never sell my Speedmaster this time? No promises, but I most likely wouldn’t want to face the same regret again.

Leave a comment